Rob McIvor-CEEC advocate-receives Art MacPherson Comminution Award


Robert McIvor of Metcom Technologies was the 2012 recipient of the Art MacPherson Comminution Award. Presented at the 2012 Canadian Mineral Processing Society meeting in January, Rob was recognised for his numerous papers on topics of comminution and active participation in assisting with mineral processing conferences and contributing to the discussion of the presentations. Rob has demonstrated leadership and in-depth understanding of comminution theory and the MacPherson SAG technology. Rob has developed training for industry with Metcom's Engineering and Management System for Plant Grinding Operations and he is the creator of the Functional Performance Equation for the analysis and improvement of operating ball mill circuits.

This Award, sponsored by SGS-Lakefield through The Canadian Mineral Processing Society of CIM honours Art MacPherson who passed away on September 25, 2000. Following graduation from The Technical University of Nova Scotia (TUNS) in 1934, MacPherson served with the Royal Canadian Engineers during World War II. In 1946 he joined the Department of Mines & Technical surveys in Ottawa and initiated a strong interest in autogenous grinding. Five years later he joined Aerofall Mills Ltd, ultimately serving as Executive Vice-President & General Manager, where he developed dry grinding systems in iron, copper and uranium plants. He moved to Bechtel in 1962 and pioneered large grinding circuits for many major projects including the Carol project of IOC, the Griffith Mine and Lornex. He was a consultant to Island Copper, Similkameen and Highland Valley Copper. Art devoted a lifetime to pioneering achievement in the field of mineral processing. He introduced innovative engineering design methodology, which became firmly established in the industry, for the development and construction of autogenous and semi-autogenous grinding circuits. His achievements were recognized by many including AIME who awarded Art the prestigious Richards Award --- the first Canadian to receive it in its 40 year history.

The Award was first presented at the 2001 SAG Conference to Andrew L. Mular, Emeritus Professor of Mineral Process Engineering at the University of British Columbia. Rob joins an elite group of industry members including Steve Morrell, Derek Barrett, John Starkey, and  John Russell- all founding CEEC supporters also!