Four new Directors join CEEC’s Board

CEEC International welcomes four new members to its Board of Directors, who were nominated and accepted during CEEC’s AGM on 9th December 2022: Dr Grant Ballantyne, Philip Bangerter, Alex Bertram and Dr Eric Wasmund. 

Dr Grant Ballantyne is the Director Technical Solutions – Global at Ausenco, He has 15 years of mineral processing engineering experience in design, optimisation, operation, research and development. He has been involved with CEEC since its inception, attending the first workshop in Noosa in 2012 where the idea for the Energy Curves was born and developed into a project he led while working at the JKMRC. He received the 2020 CEEC Medal for Technical Research. 

Philip Bangerter is an independent consultant specialising in sustainability, and has more than 40 years of industry experience in mineral processing, equipment sales, technology commercialisation, research development and sustainability. 

Alex Bertram is an intrapreneur turned industry advisor and entrepreneur. He worked for BHP for 14 years across a diverse range of areas, and developed and scaled BHP's Dash Tools platform. Today, he is Industry Lead for the Australian Automation & Robotics Precinct, works with miners on zero emission power systems in heavy industry with FirstMode, and is the founder of 

Dr Eric Wasmund, Vice President, Global Flotation Business at Eriez Flotation Division, has more than 30 years of experience in the mining sector, including roles in process development, R&D, studies, engineering management, capital projects, sales, marketing and business growth. He is passionate about improving the sustainability of the resource extraction industries. 

“CEEC International is delighted with these new appointments,” said CEEC Executive President Janine Herzig. “Our new Directors are actively engaged in a range of areas in the resources industry, which reflect the organisation’s increased focus on a wider range of topics around sustainability in mining, mineral processing and resource extraction. 

“They will assist in strengthening CEEC’s network of mining leaders, researchers and technical experts, and keep us in touch with the latest innovations and leading sustainability practices.” 

The new Directors join the existing CEEC International Board comprised of: 

  • Marc Allen, CEEC Chair and Technical Director at Engeco; 

  • Janine Herzig, CEEC Executive President and Director of MetVal Consulting Pty Ltd; 
  • Michael Battersby, Managing Director at Maelgwyn Minerals Services Ltd; 
  • Joe Pease, specialist consultant to the minerals industry; 
  • Bryan Rairdan, Technical Director, Processing at Teck Resources Ltd; and 
  • Simon Hille, Senior Vice President of Technical Services at Eldorado Gold Corporation.